3 Things I Wish I Had Known About Reading Glasses

All I want for Christmas is my eyesight back.

Kaia Maeve
7 min readDec 11, 2019

What is presbyopia?

Age-related farsightedness is a nice way of referring to the condition also known as presbyopia. It happens as the lenses of the eye become less elastic as you age.

And, spoiler alert, it can really throw a monkey wrench in your digital life.

“Dammit!! Where are my glasses!”

It used to be just chronic misplacement of my phone that plagued my day to day productivity.

Now I also have to keep track of my prescription reading glasses, because, without them, my phone is just a mysterious blurry, buzzing, paperweight.

I was born legally blind. I got glasses before I was 2 years old because when I started walking I’d miss the doorframe and hit the wall.

I got contacts when I was 8 because I kept breaking my glasses. Usually, they broke because they’d skip off my sweaty nose while I was out playing on my dirtbike with the boys. Those gas-permeable lenses were super uncomfortable, but at least they stayed in.

I upgraded to soft lenses, and eventually extended-wear lenses over time. I’d sleep with them in for 2 weeks — which in hindsight…

--

--

Kaia Maeve

Divinely inspired. Dogma-avoidant, Kaia blends soulful entrepreneurship with tech innovation. I guide creators to build authentic, heart-centered web presences.