Hydration

The missing key to your ultimate success.

Kaia Maeve
7 min readNov 16, 2019
Photo by timJ on Unsplash

“Is my calf supposed to hurt that bad?”

My client winced on the table as I squeezed his gastrocnemius and soleus muscles and calcaneal tendon in my strong hands.

They don’t call me Iron Paws for nothing!

I was trying to find the balance between the deep pressure he had requested, and the most compassionate version of massage therapy that would have a noticeable effect on this guys super sore legs.

But I could tell that it was getting too intense, so I gave up on the thought of actually addressing his sore leg, and shifted my intention to be more of a soothing experience for the poor guy.

All the tautness that had softened out of his back with the long relaxing strokes I had made that stretched the myofascial tissues of his thoracolumbar fascia was tight once again as my client opposed my efforts to release tension in his leg muscles.

He had come in that evening to the massage salon where I work, complaining of the usual culprits. Tight neck and shoulders, sore lower back, stiff knees, and general pain and discomfort nearly everywhere in his body.

These are the common ailments of most modern tech slaves. I see them nearly every day.

--

--

Kaia Maeve

I teach corporate leaders how to keep their best people happy to come to work by building a healthier company culture.