Life Divine

We all know it when we see it — yet cannot speak its true name.

Kaia Maeve
2 min readMar 29, 2024
Photo by Bogomil Mihaylov on Unsplash

I am the wetness of a rain drenched ocean
Come and swim in me

I am the glory of a crackling thunderhead
Watch me until I finally crack open and pour

I am the glorious blooming of a flower
Come and taste my pollen

I am the soft furriness of a kitten belly
Pet me and make me purr

I am the angry welt of a mosquito bite
Come and scratch my itch

I am the surrendering crack of seed casing beneath the soil’s surface
Pause and watch me sprout

I am the fragrant smell of old wood burning
Come and steal my scent

I am the gooey rot of old composted vegetables
Watch me turn decay into fertility

I am the beauty of a shooting star
Wish upon my headlong descent

I am miles and miles of mychorhizzal hyphae
Sense me moving golden wealth below the soil

I am the frigid shiver of windbitten skin
Feel my prickled goosebumps

--

--

Kaia Maeve

I teach corporate leaders how to keep their best people happy to come to work by building a healthier company culture.