There Will Never Be a Truly Digital Coffee

Because AI will never replace that first delicious sip.

Kaia Maeve
5 min readMar 8, 2024

My human tastebuds are permanently anchored to the physical world. Thank goodness for this.

Because without tastebuds I could never feel the intense wave of pleasure I get upon my first delicious morning sip of coffee. I also wouldn’t have a mouth, or water, or coffee beans, or the magical elixir that my local coffee shop, Summermoon, calls moon milk. And life without an occasional quarter moon latte might not really be worth all the trouble.

Life is quite hard to live, you see. And the humble sensory pleasures of life really could be savored more. Maybe, in fact, these sensations are one of the main things we came here to experience? Maybe, for all our lofty aspirations about morality and great purpose, we’re just sensory data collection nodes for the great consciousness from which we all came?

Sensation grounds us in a reality that can’t easily be imitated by technology. At least, not yet.

We humans are not purely mental creatures

With all the recent talk of the power of A.I. and its technological marvels, we seem to be on the verge of forgetting how powerful it is that we belong to the material realms.

--

--

Kaia Maeve

I teach corporate leaders how to keep their best people happy to come to work by building a healthier company culture.